• 1000 Talents Plan Awardee, Zhejiang Province (浙江省千人计划) , awarded in December 2012.
  • Elected ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Fellow, elevated in October 2011. (Citation: For his contribution in the development of micro power generators.)
  • Elected IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) Fellow, elevated in October 2010. (Citation: For his contribution in the development of low power integrated carbon nanotube sensor.)
  • Elected Vice-President of the IEEE Nanotechnology Council
  • Selected to serve as the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine
  • General Chair of the IEEE Nano Materials and Devices Conference (2012), October 2012, Hawaii, USA.
  • General Chair of the 7th IEEE Conference on Nanotechnology, August 2007, Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR.
  • General Chair of the 2nd IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Biomimetics (2005), August 2005, Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR.
  • Distinguished Overseas Scholar (百人计划), awarded by the Chinese Academy of Sciences (2003, China).

Honorary Academic Appointments

  • Affiliated Professor, Shenyang Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2006-present.
  • Adjunct Professor, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, 2011-present.
  • Adjunct Professor, Hong Kong Polytechnic University (Dept. of Health Technology and Informatics), Sept 2008 to June 2010.
  • Guest Professor, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, 2009-present.
  • Guest Professor, Peking University, 2008-present.
  • Guest Professor, Beijing Institute of Technology, 2006 to 2008.
  • Visiting Professor, Fuzhou University, Fuzhou, Fujian, China (2001 to 2002)
  • Visiting Scholar of State Key Laboratories, Chongqing University, Chongqing, China (1999 to 2000)

Conference Awards

  • Winner, Best Student Paper, 2012 International Conference on Manipulation, Manufacturing and Measurement on the Nanoscale, Xi’an, China. Haibo Yu, Zaili Dong, Wen Jung Li, Sascha Hermann, Stefan E. Schulz, “Controllable Assembly of SWCNTs Using Dielectrophoresis Based on a Microchannel”.
  • Winner, Best Conference Video Award, 2011 IEEE Int. Conf. on Robotics and Biomimetics (IEEE-ROBIO 2011), Phuket, Thailand. Shue Wang, Wenfeng Liang, Yanli Qu, Zaili Dong, Gwo-Bin Lee and Wen J. Li, “Towards Automated Micro-/Nano-scale Manipulation, Separation, Assembly, and Fabrication by Optically-Induced Dielectrophoresis”. (IEEE-ROBIO is currently the largest and most prestigious annual conference in robotics in Asia.)
  • Winner, Best Student Paper, 2007 IEEE Int. Conf. on Robotics and Biomimetics (IEEE-ROBIO 2007), December 2007, Sanya, China. Guangyi Shi, Cheung-Shing Chan, Guanglie Zhang, Wen J. Li, Philip H. W. Leong, and Kwok-Sui Leung, “Towards a Mobile Airbag System Using MEMS Sensors and Embedded Intelligence”. (IEEE-ROBIO is currently the largest and most prestigious annual conference in robotics in Asia.)
  • Winner, Best Conference Paper, 2007 IEEE/ASME Int. Conf. on Advanced Mechatronics, September 2007, Zurich, Switzerland. Chor Fung Chung and Wen J. Li, “Experimental Studies and Parametric Modeling of Ionic Flyers”. (IEEE/ASME AIM is the largest and most prestigious annual conference in mechatronics in the world.
  • Winner, Best Conference Paper, International Conference on Intelligent Mechatronics and Automation 2004, August 2004, Chengdu, China. W. C. Lai and Wen J. Li, “Automated Micro-Assembly of Surface MEMS Mirrors by Centrifugal Force”.
  • Winner, Best Conference Paper, Finalist, Best Student Paper; Finalist, Ben Wegbreit Best Manipulation Paper; at the 2003 IEEE Int. Conf. on Robotics and Automation (IEEE-ICRA), Taipei, Taiwan, September 2003.  Hoyin Chan and Wen J. Li, “A Thermally Actuated Polymer Micro Robotic Gripper for Manipulation of Biological Cells”. (IEEE-ICRA is the largest and most prestigious annual conference on robotics in the world.)
  • Winner, Best Conference Student Poster Paper, 2003 IEEE Int. Conf. on Nanotechnology (IEEE Nano), San Francisco, USA, August 2003, for the paper: Carmen KM Fung, Victor TS Wong, and Wen J. Li, “Towards Batch Fabrication of Bundled Carbon Nanotube Thermal Sensors”.
  • Winner, Best Student Paper Award, IS2000, Aizu, November 2000, Japan, for the paper: Carmen K. M. Fung, King W. C. Lai, Wen J. Li, Y. H. Liu, Imad Elhajj, and Ning Xi, “Sesing and Action in Micro Environment via Internet”.

Special Invited/Keynote/ Plenary Speeches

  • Keynote Speaker, The 2nd International Forum on Micro Manufacturing, Guangzhou, China, December 2012. 
  • Keynote Speaker, 3M-NANO (Int. Conf. on Manipulation, Manufacturing, and Measurement on the Nanoscale), August 29-Sept 1, 2012, Xi’an, China.
  • Keynote Speaker, “Advanced Applications of Human-Motion-Recognition Using MEMS Motion Sensors”, 13th Nano and Microsystem Technology Conference, Taiwan, July 9-10, 2009.
  • Plenary Speaker, 2009 IEEE International Conference on Nanotechnology Materials and Devices Conference, Traverse City, Michigan, USA, June 2009.
  • Special Invited Speaker, Micro/Nano Global Network, Yokohama, Japan, August 1, 2008.
  • Plenary Speaker, The 24th Sensor Symposium on Sensors, Micromachines and Applied Systems, Tokyo, Japan, October 16-17, 2007  (this meeting is for Japanese academics and industrialists to learn about the most advanced sensor technologies in the world).
  • Keynote Speaker, “Reversible and Ultra-Low-Power Alcohol Vapor Sensors based on Functionalized CNT Elements “, The 2nd International Symposium on Micro and Nano Technology, Hsinchu, Taiwan, March 29-31, 2006.
  • Special Invited Speaker, “Towards Fabrication of CNT-based Large-Scale-Integrated (LSI) Sensor Arrays”, The 2nd International Meeting on Microsensors and Microsystems, Tainan, Taiwan, 15-18 January 2006.
  • Special Invited Speaker, “Fabrication of Large CNT Sensing Arrays by Pico-Litre Fluidic Spotting and Dielectrophoretic Manipulation”, The International Conference on Bio-Nano-Informatics Fusion, Los Angeles, CA, USA, July 21, 2005.
  • Keynote Speaker, “Carbon Nanotubes as Thermal Sensing Elements”, 11th International Workshop on Thermal Investigations of ICs and Systems”, Belgirate, Lake Maggiore, Italy, 27-30 September 2005.
  • Plenary Speaker, “Micro-Robotics and Nano-Fluidics: Critical Technologies to Building LSI Nanosystems”, IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS 2005), Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, Aug 04, 2005 (IROS is the 2nd largest, and one of the most well-respected, conference on robotics and intelligent systems in the world).
  • Special Invited Speaker, “A MEMS Based Mechanical Energy Harvesting Transducer for Wireless Micro Sensing Applications”, International Micro Fabrication Technology Symposium, Hong Kong Productivity Council, Hong Kong, May 2004.
  • Special Invited Speaker, Wen J. Li and Zhaoyin Zhou, “Micro Energy Systems: Research and Development Activities in China”, PowerMEMS 2002, Tsukuba, Japan, November 12-13, 2002.

Teaching Awards

  • Vice-Chancellor’s Exemplary Teaching Award 2006, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.
  • Exemplary Teaching Award 2004, Faculty of Engineering, CUHK, (2004, Hong Kong).
  • Exemplary Teaching Award 2001, Faculty of Engineering, CUHK, (2001, Hong Kong).

Other Awards/Honors

  • NASA Technical Innovation Award (group award for the development of MEMS gyro; 1997, USA)
  • Silicon Microstructures Inc. Employee Award (1994, USA).
  • Aerospace Corporate Fellowship (1988 to 1994, USA).
  • President, Aerospace Asian American Association (1993, USA).
  • Sigma Xi Undergraduate Research Award (1987, USA).
  • USC Aerospace Engineering Research Award (1987, USA)

Die physikalischen prinzipien, auf denen sie hausarbeiten schreiben lassen beruhten, die mechanischen schwingungen, blieben die gleichen.